What’s In A Name?

12822986_10153853370100042_434500752_o
Thanks to @sylysyl for the photo

One of the most common questions I get asked when at craft fairs or when giving out business cards is “Why Tamed Raven?”

I could go on and on about how much I’ve always loved corvids, ever since I was a little girl waking up to them every day in the trees in my yard. How we’d feed them our scraps (this was before compost was a thing), and how I learned to make some of their sounds and amused myself by interacting with them. But even though all that is true, it’s much simpler.

My dad used to drive a truck, transporting goods over Canada and the US. He’d be gone a few weeks at a time and from the start of grade 9 to many years afterwards, I dyed my hair. A lot. All colours imaginable, and all colour combinations. Once, when I decided that ‘so dark it’s almost blue’ black was my next colour, dad came home and said I looked like some tamed raven sitting at the table. My hair reminded him of their feathers. Not long after that I needed a new email, used it, and it’s stuck with me ever since.

So no, my work really has nothing to do with ravens, but they’re special to me all the same. They remind me of him, and they remind me of creativity and my thirst for change. And also that they don’t like watermelon rind, but that’s another story…

Leave a Reply

